Hiking the Escarpment

I love the fall, as I’ve said before the colours are mesmerizing. I’m lucky enough to live in the shadow of the Niagara Escarpment along the famous Bruce Trail – the outdoors are all around me. It’s a great sight throughout the year, from the buds in the spring, to the fresh green of summer, and the changing of the leaves all throughout the fall. I highly recommend a visit if you’re in the area!

For me, I visit any time that I feel the need to get out. Last Friday, I convinced my dad to take a hike with me and my family’s dog, Monty. Monty is an English Springer Spaniel, we adopted him from a rescue about 4 years ago, he’s 9 now and has as much energy as a puppy does, perfect for hiking.

I wanted to share some beautiful shots that I snapped during our 2 and a half hour hike along the Escarpment Trail and Bruce Trail. Enjoy!

signs

dad and monty

IMG_0659

IMG_0692

Over looking West Hamilton and McMaster University

IMG_0686

IMG_0690

Best friends

IMG_0675

IMG_0674

MontyIMG_0684

On our journey back to the car, we stopped at a bakery that I’ve been going to since I was little. We had a spot of lunch and a cookie, we were famished and I forgot to grab some shots of the delicious food so no photos of the food – sorry!

IMG_0697

IMG_0699

We also passed by a family friend’s vineyard who happened to be out picking some grapes to sell at the side of the road later in the day.

IMG_0702

IMG_0703

The farmhouse

Being an animal person, I had to stop and give a pet to this beautiful horse at the side of the road. She trotted right up to me, not shy at all!

IMG_0704

It was a great day to hike, I can’t wait to do it again soon…

Leave a Reply

